Parents Viewing Priviledges

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.
Reaction score
I'm new to competitive gymnastics. My daughter 8 has been at a gym for 2 years now and has started down the competitive road and I was wondering what "best practices" are at other gyms? I've just been informed the parents of competitive children are no longer allowed to view their children training (despite the facility to house spectators and viewing windows) and was wondering if this is common practice at other gyms? Please feel free to comment

Thank You
Tambo

Viewing Privileges

I am new to competitive gymnastics. My daughter has been at a gym for 2 years now and has just started the competitive stream. I have just been informed by the gym that competitive parents are no longer allowed to view their children in training (despite the capacity to house spectators and viewing windows). I was wondering if this is common practice in the competitive stream. All comments are appreciated.

Thank you

Yep. At our gym you can no longer watch once the child reaches level 3. We start competing at level 5.

Whether it is 'best practice' is debateable and has been debated here a lot.

Most gyms do have this policy for their competitive gymnasts, the viewing windows are for the rec kids. And it is for your own health. Seriously once you child starts training 14 or so hours a week it is very unhealthy to sit there and watch all their training. I have seen parents do this, and just committing this much time to sitting there will change their attitudes, they start to spend far too much time focused on what these kids are and aren't doing, who is better than who, who is getting the most attention and so on.

Then when their child wants to stop its very hard on the parent because watching gymnastics has become their life.