Coaches Why rope climbs?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

My gym puts a lot of emphasis on being able to climb the rope to the top with legs held in a pike or straddle. While I agree that it takes a lot of strength and understand that a gymnast needs to be strong, I don't understand how rope climbs specifically translate into better gymnastics. Obviously the core strength needed to hold the legs up is important but couldn't that also be accomplished in just holding a straddle L or L sit on the ground? Is the pull up motion to get up the rope really helping any skill? We have one coach who is always telling the girls what great bar swingers they'll be if they can get good rope climbs. But isn't most of bars a push against the bar? Just mostly curious. Should I be spending time on something else or are they worth doing a lot of?

I'm no expert on this, but this is just my two cents :) It is beneficial to grip/forearm strength, which is important for bars. Holding a straddle on the floor isn't going to work that. The direction of the hands is different than on a bar doing pull-ups, so it's working different muscle groups that are more difficult to "reach" with other exercises. It strengthens the upper back & shoulders. Even though bars is a push against the bar, the same muscles are used to stabilize the arms & provide the "power" for the push. There is also a cardiovascular side to it. Rope climbs work the endurance necessary to get through bar routines & end them strongly. So, although the motion doesn't directly translate, the strength gained from it definitely does. As for how much time to spend on them, I'm not certain how your practices are structured. During the summer at my gym, we'd have 5-10 (depending on the day) to get done by the end of practice. So if you're waiting in line for a side station or routine, you're on the rope.

The are so many benefits to rope climbs.