Parents Would you do it again?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ChalkBucket may earn a commission through product links on the site.

curlymomof3

Proud Parent
Reaction score
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting on this board and I'm hoping you can help be decide what to do with DD. We are currently at a crossroads. DD has been doing gym since she could walk and has been invited to join the Level 4 team this summer at age 7. She loves gymnastics and it only seems natural for her to move up. The only problem is that she also did competitive dance this past year and loves that too. I feel that we are at the point where she needs to decide which one she will pursue, as each will be too time consuming to do both.

I'm worried that once she starts competitive gymnastics she will love it so much that she will never want to quit, and I'm not sure that I want her getting to the point where she does gymnastics everyday! I'm also nervous about the injuries! Will she have chronic pain later on due to intense gymnastics training? Watching the older girls at her gym terrifies me and I'm not sure I even want DD attempting those tricks!!

Dance seems like the easier choice because she loves it too and she will be doing it with her friends. It is also closer to our home which is a big plus! But I don't want to rob her of the opportunity to compete in gymnastics. And BTW, I tried to let her decide, but she loves both so much that she keeps going back and forth and I feel the decision is up to me!

Maybe I'm being silly about all this. After all, she might try it and hate it! So my question is, knowing what you know now, would you choose gymnastics again? Or would you go a different route? TIA for the feedback!