Coaches Lets be honest

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

trackandfield6

Coach
Proud Parent
Firstly I am an old coach....LOL...heading towards 65. I had some really great, and fairly well known technicians in my life as coaches. I coach the same way and think in that same way.... old school...:) I have a mixed review kind of question. I am of the belief that to stay in JO, you have to have some degree of natural gymnastics/athletic ability. You also need to eventually have a decent degree of self motivation, and love for the sport. I feel like there are parents who are of the belief that if their child just works hard enough, they can stay in JO. I am all for that kind of thought pattern, but I have also seen it work to the detriment of kids, who would be better off in an Xcel kind of program. On the one hand you don't want to limit a child, but on the other hand I think it's kind of unrealistic to let them, and especially the parents, think that they are on the right track. What are the different ways you all screen kids? I am sure that there are a myriad of answers. I just feel like there are times when we are literally lying to the parents about what is the best track for their kids. I realize the multitude of factors that are possible.

Thought #1 - if the gymnast is putting in the effort, they shouldn't be forced to go to Xcel.
#2 -NOW, if they WANT to go to Xcel, that's different. Not every gymnast is going to get to level 10, and that's ok. Over the years, we have had girls who competed 3-4 years at Level 7 and were perfectly happy. If there are girls "stuck" in compulsories, Xcel is an option, but depending on how the gym "markets" their Xcel program, some people may want to switch and others my not.