Coaches Need some advice (long post)

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Splash123

Coach
Gymnast
Judge
Hi guys, first some background. I've been coaching for a couple of years and am currently doing my level 1 WAG coaching course (just have exam left), but am currently a level 0 and level 1 general coach.

I am currently a lead recreational coach on one of the days that I work (have a level 2 supervising but coaching a different group), and am having some issues with a certain gymnast and behavioural issues and was hoping for some advice. This gymnast is an 11/12 yo advanced recreational gymnast. We frequently have problems with her not listening to instructions and then complaining when the other get to work on more advanced skills - we explain to her that the skills are dangerous and she needs to work on the simplified skill first - she also has a bit of a reputation amongst the coaches for doing the complete opposite of what is said/ 'zoning out' so to speak.
I have spoken to her parent numerous times and HC has spoken to the parent recently about moving her back a group because she is putting herself and other gymnasts at risk by not listening to instructions/safety protocol.

Any advice on what to do next? HC isn't planning to talk to the parent again until we get to the end of the 10 week term (4.5 weeks away), and me and my assistant coach don't know what to do because the parent doesn't appear to be listening to what is being said.

Thanks for reading the long post :) x

I had a girl around the same age join my team group over the summer. She didn't exhibit the same behavioral problems you list, but was always in a terrible mood, incredibly unhappy, would exert little effort, not even try to attempt skills correctly, the list goes on. It was super frustrating for all of the coaches as no one could seem to get through to her after numerous chats and motivational speeches.