Anon Benefits of DP

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

A

Anonymous (3c01)

New to this world so forgive my ignorance. DD was invited onto level 3 team from rec classes but after looking into hours, cost, etc.-not currently but as she progresses on that track-I'm hesitating. She loves gym now but I fear it leaves room for little else. And I don't want to take her down a path that proves unsustainable. She wants to join a team but at 6 y.o. is more excited about matching leos & chance to earn a spot on the podium vs. having elite aspirations. She has zero knowledge of or preference regarding program type. So-If college/elite is NOT the goal, is there still a benefit of doing DP vs. Xcel or similar lower hours/stress program?

Just depends on what you choose as a parent. I'm a coach and a parent. My wife and I put all three of our kids in the JO / DP program... oldest daughter played in the world of elite gymnastics. Xcel is not something that I am into as a parent... just not my style.

Middle daughter was going to quit gymnastics... she had no desire to switch to Xcel... she was going to do a whole different sport. She decided not to quit and still do the other sport... now she does high school track and is a Level 10.

Xcel is a great program... it's just not what I look for in a program.

Just a word of caution - not all XCEL programs are lower hours, lower stress etc. Be sure to look into each program before deciding. Many gyms use XCEL as a stepping stone to DP optionals. There are also gyms that have DP and Xcel but they still run their XCEL program with higher hours and more competitive than you would expect.