Coaches Help with JO USA Rules

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi guys,

I am a coach from the UK and we have some WAG gymnasts doing a competition in Florida next year. We are trying to decide what level everyone should do and I'm finding the rules really hard to follow.

I have one gymnast in particular who does not compete backwards skills generally (she can do some very basic ones) due to severe mental blocks. As I look at the rules I think she's coming out as a level 8.

Can some American coaches let me know if these routines would be acceptable?

Vault: handspring 1.5 twist

Bars: kip, cast to handstand, top turn, sole circle, kip, cast to handstand, toe circle to handstand, giant, pike shoot with half turn ( I know she doesn't have the Salto dismount requirement but she cannot fly away)

Beam: mount, switch leap, full spin, forward walkover roundoff connection, split jump, W Jump , straight front dismount,

Floor
Straight front tuck front connection, handspring full twist, double spin, tour jete 1/2, split change 1/4

Thanks everyone!

Hi guys,

I am a coach from the UK and we have some WAG gymnasts doing a competition in Florida next year. We are trying to decide what level everyone should do and I'm finding the rules really hard to follow.

I have one gymnast in particular who does not compete backwards skills generally (she can do some very basic ones) due to severe mental blocks. As I look at the rules I think she's coming out as a level 8.

Can some American coaches let me know if these routines would be acceptable?

Vault: handspring 1.5 twist

Bars: kip, cast to handstand, top turn, sole circle, kip, cast to handstand, toe circle to handstand, giant, pike shoot with half turn ( I know she doesn't have the Salto dismount requirement but she cannot fly away)

Beam: mount, switch leap, full spin, forward walkover roundoff connection, split jump, W Jump , straight front dismount,

Floor