How do you talk to coaches about college?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Well i would like to start off by telling you that i participate in AGA, which has no compulsory levels but rather set level by score going from junior prep 1-5 (here there are no require ments but you are only allowed to compete As and Bs), junior 6-10, and junior, senior, and pre-elite. for more info this is their website, and i can answer more questions. AGA - Home

Now on to my question. While understanding that i have a slim chance at going to college considering that i am currently a freshman and competing in a smaller gymnastics organization, i have a very weak chance of doing gymnatics in college, or maybe i have a great chance that i why i need to talk to my coach but i am unsure of how to do this. Im worried about getting told a vague answer of "you can do anything you set your mind to". Which in my mind means i dont have a chance at a division 3 college, which is really what im setting my heart on.

So how do i go about asking my coach about college gymnastics, what it takes to get there, what i need to do, and if he thinks i can make it?

P.S. a conference which includes my parents is really out of the question as they really dont care is i quit tomorro, they would actually be happy.

Thanks in advance

Hi Jennifir,

The way you asked here on the forum is perfectly fine. :) Your coach knows your abilities more than anyone else, sometimes even you and will give you a straight answer. He/she should help you set realistic goals in terms of what programs would work for you.

When considering my school, a gymnastics program was right at the top of my list of priorities. But then I had to consider, costs, distance and what programs they offered academically to see if it was right for me. A D3 school doesn't give scholarships nor does an Ivy League School like where I was accepted.