Parents How to care for leos made with shiny Mystique fabric?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

NMNorskie

Proud Parent
Hi--I am new here. :) I have been lurking here for a couple of months and have learned a ton, which is great because I am totally new to gymnastics. So thank you!

I have a brand new gymmie , and we have had fun buying leos for her. Her favorites are the shiny kind made of a fabric called Mystique, and she has a few now that need to be washed. I've been putting it off because I'm not sure what to do with them. They're kind of expensive, so I want to make sure I'm caring for them properly so they last.

We have a fairly new front-load washer that does a nice job with delicates (no agitator), but I'm not sure what sort of detergent to use. We normally use the All dye-free detergent pods (the kind that dissolve in the wash). Will those be too harsh? I thought maybe Woolite, but is that just for wool? Is there a special kind of detergent for these?

I really have no idea what I'm doing. I'm used to t-shirts and jeans (most of which cost far less than these new leos). Help!

I wash my gymmie's practice leos in cold water on the delicate cycle in a mesh bag (the kind made for washing sweaters) with Method detergent and line-dry them. They seem to hold up just fine. Standard detergent (e.g., Tide) will wash the foil right off.

I use any detergent because I just buy what's on sale and wash delicate and let air dry. I have never had any issues and we have had some leo's for almost two years now.

Make sure whatever you use, wash the leo inside out and do not put detergent DIRECTLY on the leo... so the pods should be great since they dissolve in the water.