WAG Judging MAGA or High School

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

aileenmaryf

Coach
Gymnast
Okay so this might be a stretch, but I was just wondering if there is anyone out there who is a judge in the MAGA program (Midwest Amateur Gymnastics Association)? I am interested learning how to judge but I have no clue how to get into that. I am a high school coach and I think it would help me have a better sense for the rules. I would like to start out judging MAGA but I am interested in high school judging too.

So my question is, how do you get into judging? I have looked at the MAGA website but there is NO information on judging. Do they get certified as a high school judge? I know they have pretty much the same rules, but you would think there would be some information out there.

your kidding? if you want to Judge you contact NAWGJ in the state where you reside.

MAGA can't help you...unless you have a gymnastics team that competes in
WI, MN, IA, SD and outside of USA Gymnastics. they are just another group that exists like AAU, USAIGC, Amerikids, etc;

Her question isn't ridiculous. Where I am, high school judging is a separate and distinct entity. While many judges choose to do both high school and JO, the process to becoming a high school judge is a different one- complete with a much easier (and less expensive) process. No need for NAWGJ fees, uniforms, USAG membership/safety cert./background check, etc. It's much more cost effective for those wishing to test the waters of judging and see if it is something they want to pursue through USAG.