Question for Gymnasts...

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

iluvgym

Coach
How many of you have just woken up one day and were scared to do a skill you've had your whole gymnastics life? And then got it back and it switched to just one day being scared of a different skill? And so on and so on. I'm talking mostly optionals here, those of you who have been in gymnastics forever.

What has helped you to just "get back to normal" and what has made it worse? and do you know why you started having this problem in the first place? I'm asking because I want a GYMNAST's point of view.

What did your coaches do to help you solve the problem? Anything? Nothing? I want to hear your imput. Gymnast's only please.

As a coach I've NEVER in 20something years had this happen and it's driving me crazy! I know the whole body changing, growth, vestibular thing but I want to hear from you young people on the subject.

This is not that uncommon once some fears get bad enough (that they spread or switch). In some cases with an optional they need to go back to basics and take the pressure off...wait until they're practically begging to try the skills again. If they know they can't do it, then there's no point in "trying" it, balking, and adding yet another psychological blow.

I haven't had that exact thing happen, but I did have a period of getting afraid to do certain things I did easily. Example: afraid to do a flyaway sometime around level 7, but after about a week have never been afraid of flyaways of any kind again. And once I became very afraid to do a standing back tuck on beam and KNEW I wouldn't be able to throw it (even though I was still doing all other back tumbling). But after a day of that and working back up, I never had the problem again. These were around the same time.