standing full

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

twisting007bigflip

Coach
Proud Parent
how do you guys teach this? and what kind of lead up drills do you use?

I coach gymnastics for a living and have been for almost 20 years. I've coached anything from rec to mommy and me, pre team, usag L4-L9 team, rec team, I have always started these on trampoline teaching an arabian front tuck with a half twist at the end (jump, half turn, front flip, half twist, land)...never needing to spot. I use drills like "jump 1/2 turn roll down the wedge" and that leads to "jump 1/2 turn front flip to feet on the wedge" then the same drills on an 8"er. I also use "standing front from 2 panel mats stacked", then "standing front 1/2 twist from panels", and eventually "standing arabians from panels" and "standing arabian 1/2 twist from panels". I've never in my time had a problem teaching a kid a standing full with these progressions...and usually it doesn't take a kid very long to learn it this way for me....but now I have a question...............

Is a standing full supposed to be what I describe, or, is a standing full supposed to be more of a standing whip with a full twist? Or a standing layout with a full twist?