Parents Taking a summer vacation - question

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Natalietexas

Proud Parent
We are new to competitive gymnastics. My daughter is only in the new level 3 this year. We are taking her on a trip for 2 weeks in the beginning of summer. I read that older girls in higher levels that they are discouraged from taking long vacations but didn't see anything about the younger girls. Since my daughter is in a lower level will the 2 weeks off affect her performance when she gets back to the gym and be back to competition level in 6-8 weeks.. In short, will she lose some of her skills from time away - or will she be able to bounce back quickly. I'm new to gymnastics so any advice would be appreciated.

She'll be fine.

My daughter missed almost 6 months before L5 because of a really bad break. She ended up competing and doing fine. Before L6 she missed a couple of months when we moved and that was a lot harder but she managed. Now (just finished L8) it's getting harder. Her coach even told me that my daughter has a hard time bouncing back... she takes as long as she was gone to come back. So we're planning shorter trips now or trying to find ways to stay in shape while out of the gym. My point being: enjoy it now!!! If she continues in gym, there will probably be a point where vacations are harder and you will regret limiting yourself early on. She'll be fine. :)

I mostly just try to make sure we're in town the whole month of August, since meet season starts at the end of August. This year, I am trying to be a little more mindful of how many gymnastics days she will miss, since they will just be learning the new routines. She'll miss a week in June for camp, and that may be it this year. Not sure we're going to able to align everyone's schedule enough to take a big vacation like we usually do.