Coaches Advice for spotting flyaways

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

V

VA Gym Coach

Hi all,

I need some tips on flyaway spotting/drills. I am a small coach (5ft) and am in the beginning process of teaching flayways. I know the beginning drills for the skill but I need advice for helping the girls actually flip for the first time. Some of the girls I am teaching are simply just too big for me to get them into a candle shape in the air and then flip them over.

Anyone have advice on drills or methods to help me teach my girls flyaways when I am limited in size and strength? (our gym also has no pits...)

Thank you very much :)

Hi. I'm not a coach (yet lol), so sorry for posting where I'm not supposed to, but I had a suggestion.

I'm 5'7 and when I was first learning flyaways my coach (who is about the same height as you) put me in a spotting belt while learning it. You could probably also ask another coach to pull the belt while you spotted for technique. So if you have a spotting belt, you might want to consider using it, or getting one if you don't. We use them all over the place at my gym, even on beam! I did my first beam back handspring attempt, ever, on a high beam with a belt. They definitely come in handy. :)

We have this problem all the time because we are all smaller women. We stack a few 8 inch mats so we are closer to the bar and then double spot. We double spot new flyaways for a very long time, essentially until they are ready to be one their own, since many of our kids are the same size as us or bigger. But, making your self taller with mats really helps, but I don't recommend trying to use spotting blocks because you aren't very mobile that way.

That's the way we get through this particular challenge of not having pits, spotting belts or coaches over 5'3".

Or, you can lower the bar...