Parents Any advice greatly appreciated

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Gymmom567

Proud Parent
Hello All,

This is my first time posting and I am seeking advice, especially from coaches. I'm sorry if this is really long!

My daughter (age 9) just finished her first year of competing as a Level 3. Her state championship meet was almost two weeks ago. She was thrilled with how it went. She earned personal bests in each event and was so proud that she put in her best performances of the year at the biggest meet. She arrived back at her gym for the first practice after states energized and excited to get back to work and try new skills. She left confused and deflated because she was completely blindsided by what happened there: The coach had decided to divide the Level 3's into two different training groups. One group will get to train new skills and try to advance to Level 4 and one group will remain Level 3 with no opportunity to even train Level 4 skills. My daughter is in the latter group with the girls who did not qualify for states. The girls that she trained with all season are in the other group. My husband and I were given no advance warning or explanation. The coach did inform the parents of the girls who were selected for the more advanced group ahead of time. We were told nothing, so there was no way for us to try and prepare our daughter for what was coming.