Gymnasts Beam meet day nerves

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Mango Tango

Gymnast
this is my first year competing does anyone have any tips for not shaking? I’m perfectly fine in practice but when I get up there I can’t calm myself down. Any advice would be appreciated! ❤️

Ooo! I struggled with this alot a couple years ago. My number one tip is to keep your focus on the end of the beam. It can help to put a little dot of chalk on each end so you can keep your balance and it helps you spot in turns. Next, forget about warm ups. You could have the best warm up of your life and the have the worst beam routine ever. As soon as warm ups end, forget about them. When the judge salutes you, smile and take a deep breath, THEN start your mount. From the moment that judge salutes you, it's just you and the beam. Finally, be confident. Attack your skills and do everything with power. It's one moment in time. It's ok if it doesn't go the way you want it to but being timid doesn't help anything. Salute, Breathe, and go. You got this!

One of the best tips I've learned in the last few years is making sure you don't rush through your routine and keep your focus on your breathing! Muscle memory works wonders, so when you take your mind off thoughts like "I really need to land this" and put it on body awareness, you're going to have a much easier time staying confident. Taking your time on your dance can also work wonders since it gives you a moment to calm any nerves before your next skills.