Do you let your gymnast tumble outside the gym?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

mariposa

Proud Parent
Proud Parent
If you are a parent, do you let your kid tumble outside of the gym? If so, why?

If you are a coach, would you want your gymnasts tumbling outside the gym? If not, do you talk to them about this at the gym?

As a coach, I don't mind my gymnasts tumbling outside of the gym as LONG as they are skills they have already learned PROPERLY, and have done WITHOUT spot SAFELY in the gym, and if they are in an appropriate area (grass for light tumbling, monkey bar kips, maybe on a panel at home, trampoline).. It's those that just chuck skills and learn bad habits with skills that they have not trained is where problems arise. We discuss this at the gym with them as well! :)

My answer is NO. My daughter hates that I have this rule, but it is strictly enforced. She has 2 close friends (both gymnasts) that are allowed to tumble anywhere and everywhere. Grass, concrete, wherever. She loves to have playdates with them, but it is hard because they want to do gym stuff sometimes and they get to do the "fun stuff" as my DD says and she can't. She says I am a "meany".

I have a few reasons for saying no. First of all, the danger of getting hurt is dramatically increased because the surface is not soft or springy, a fall on concrete or grass is probably going to be worse than a fall on a mat or spring floor. Secondly, I worry about the repeated pounding on hard surfaces and that it can contribute to stress fractures. Regardless of whether she has a skill solid or not, she can't do any tumbling. Cartwheels and handstands are okay, walkovers I discourage outside of the gym because I think she puts enough stress on her back with the hours spent at the gym.