Does my DD NEED Summer Camp?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

G

gymandswim

Hi All, I am new to CB and this is my first online post ever. I hope I am doing this correctly.

My DD is 8 and is a level 3. Her team is competing and she is doing well. She absolutely LOVES gymnastics and would be in the gym 24-7 if she could. Right now it is just 6 hours a week. Some of the lv3 moms have mentioned sending their girls away to gymnastics summer camps.

Being new to the sport, at what age/level is it appropriate to go to one of these summer camps? I am a little nervous about sending my 8 year old away to another state. I am also curious about the amount of supervision and guidance the girls of that age receive. Do they mix with older girls? Boys?

Will my child be at a disadvantage if she does not attend one of these camps?

What are some good camps?

Can anyone enlighten me on this subject? Pros, cons, pitfalls.

Thanks so much!

My opinion: Camp is fun, not a requirement. I like it because it gives the girls another coaching perspective and they get to try skills their own coach might not be working yet. Supervision, etc depends on the specific camp you choose. I'm guessing that any camp would have some mixing of younger and older girls--I know Lake Owen places them in work-out groups by ability, not age, but you stay in a cabin with girls your own age (and at your daughter's age, she'd be with an adult too).

Is your daughter asking to go to camp? If she is, then I'd consider it. If she isn't, then don't do it--it's expensive and she's young yet. (my daughter was 11 yr last summer and level 8--and that was her first summer going)

Hi and welcome to CB !!! Congrat's on your DD making team and irbid great that she is enjoying it. Make sure you join the Proud Parent user group so that you can post in the Parent Forum.