Moved to new state, new gym not measuring up

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I'm new to CB & looking for advice and/or support. We recently moved to a new state for work and had to find a new gym. The old gym was a big, established gym and very successful. In our new city, there are not many options for gymnastics. We did find a gym in the new state and my daughter has been there for the past 5 months. Initially she hated it but has recently started bonding with her new teammates and adjusting to the newness of everything.

The coach is a very likable person but his coaching methods and philosophies are so different from the old gym. At the old gym the girls were very polished and only competed skills that were competition ready. At the new gym the focus is on the big skills and less on refinement of existing skills. Dance elements are sloppy and points are being lost on form. My daughter's own form is beginning to suffer and so are her scores and placings at competitions. As her mom, I do have a gymnastics and dance background and having been at the old gym for 8 years (she started at the age of 3 & is now 11 & a level 8) I've seen how training can be done right resulting in success on the individual & team level. I know I have no right to tell the new coach how to coach but I'm so frustrated with lack of attention to detail and pushing the girls to compete skills they just 'got'.

As above, there really aren't a lot of gym options around for us to choose from. We are already driving 30+ minutes and any other gym would be even further away. I guess my question is should I say something to him or keep my mouth shut? I can't stop comparing how the old gym did things so much differently and so much better. I appreciate any advice or input.