WAG National TOPS testing: housing/logistics?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

kimute

Proud Parent
My 8 YO DD will be going to national TOPS testing this October. We are total newbies at this. We haven't even traveled more than an hour for a meet yet! I noticed housing is available at the ranch and hotels are also recommended. Does anyone experienced with this recommend an option? My DD will do better not in a cabin full of people, but it seems there are also motel rooms at the ranch? Are these available to athletes (and their Dad)? Any other advice for preparing for this journey (which for us also includes a non trivial flight) is very welcome. Thank you!

The "motels" at the Ranch aren't for the general public so no, Dad cannot stay at the Ranch. When my girls went to testing , they went with just their coach and all stayed on site at the ranch. Another testing, I went along and stayed in a hotel in The Woodlands but she and her coach stayed at the Ranch....be prepared to drop a couple thousand (with flights for gymnast, coach and possibly parent...as well as hotel/accomodations and meals) for the testing in Houston...some gyms will subsidize some of this but most do not...

We stayed in a hotel last year. My daughter sleeps best when it is really quiet and I have heard that it can be a little noisy at the ranch. Some of her team mates stayed at the ranch in past years for TOPS and Developmental camps and said it was a good experience just a little noisy. So we chose a hotel just to be safe for testing. I have had other parents tell me that it is not noisy at all. Go figure.