WAG Self taught

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Olga

Proud Parent
Hello everyone, I've been a long time lurker and finally decided to post. My dd (11) has been teaching herself gymnastics since she was 9. Surprisingly, she got a TON of new skills (round off bhs bhs, back walkover on "beam" etc. Since we're moving to Australia soon, I talked to a gym in the area and they'd put her in AUS L5. But that's 15hrs commitment per week. I guess I'm sort of worried because now she practices around 3-4 hrs. I'm wondering how she will also deal with the schoolwork as she'll be going to middle school. Any suggestions?

That's a big jump at once. Can you ask them to phase it in over time? Maybe start off with 8-10 hours/week for a few months and move up in time after that?

It's probably hard for a new gym to evaluate her without seeing her skills (not sure if the gym you talked to also saw videos or anything). From my experience, gyms usually place people who have recently moved either by letting them do a trial practice or doing a private lesson to evaluate. So it might be wise to think about it in an open-ended way until you get there. That would also give you a chance to see the gym and the coaches and see if you like it. Especially because if your DD has been self-taught, she might have a very different skill level on different events - and different gyms have different policies about where to place kids like that.

For everybody's reference, I looked up the AUS levels and it seems like AUS 5 is somewhere between USAG L3 and 4.

Y