Parents Time to make a decision?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

SignHere

Proud Parent
First a little background... DD is just turned 9 years old and set to move to optionals next season. She likes her gym, is happy there, I like her gym, but DD has expressed a desire to train elite. We ave talked about this, and this is not merely a little girls' dream of " the Olympics" but also a reasonable dream of possibly making the National team.

However, (and this is a BIG one) she's not a high scorer in All Arounds. She did mid to high 35 s all year, though her bar scores improved dramatically (9.6s). Her gym is not set up to train elite.

I'm not sure at what point I need to talk to her coaches about moving her, I didn't want to move her to soon, but if she's an 11 or 12 year old level 10 , is that too old? Should she be scoring higher in the AA in the compulsories?

I'm not sure, since I'm new to this, but she might need higher scores to make national team, right? And might have to be a certain age? Also, the higher levels might harder, so possibly she might not move up as fast at that point? That said, I would say by optional levels if your daughter wants to train elite and that works for your family, maybe it is best to find a gym where that is an option. She obviously can't prepare for elite without that training. Maybe having coaches that know how to train elite will help her reach her goals and even improve her scores? Like I said, I don't know a lot about this, but I'd guess that it's not unreasonable for a gymnast at her level to want to be in a gym that is equipped to train elite, if training elite is what they want.