Parents What Would You Do?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

harobed.enac

Coach
Proud Parent
Hi there,
This is my first time posting.
My daughter is a level 8 and is in an elite program.

Yesterday her coach dumped her lunch out on the floor in front of her teammates and had some others do the same.
She took a picture of her lunch and told her that she has too much and that the food she had would last her for a week.
She is at the gym from 1030am until 8pm (I coach so she has to stay extra until I'm done.)
She then pulled me aside and told me that I'm setting her up to be fat.

She is 9 years old, 4 foot 5 and 55 pounds. We are genetically small as it is.

I am appalled. This was her food for almost 12 hours yesterday:
Made from scratch pasta noodles that I make myself, peas, a small bag of pretzels, a small bag of almonds and cranberries, two protein bars (you know because she is there for nearly 12 hours) and cantaloupe.

I am really upset. I am a vegetarian and I pack nutritious and power-packed food.
Apparently this is not the first time something like this has happened.
I was told that some of her food was taken and eaten by the coaches also.

I am ready to pull her out of the program.

What would you do?

I'd burn rubber getting out of there. I'm sure it's not that simple, since you work there and it's an elite training program, but that coach is seriously sick. Also, it shows an appalling lack of understanding for the nutritional needs of a growing athlete.

My kid wouldn't be going back. I know that sometimes you can't fully believe what the kids report back; but that they came and told you that you were setting her up to be fat would be enough evidence for me.