DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

JBS

ChalkBucket Founder
Staff member
Gold Membership
Coach
Proud Parent
I always hear different opinions on this matter. Do the high level optionals at your club do back walkovers as a part of their regular training? For example...do your L9/10's have a basic slow tumbling warm-up/complex that leads them through front & back walkovers?...or do you keep away from these skills as they may produce injuries?

Coaches especially...does the ability to perform these skills correctly reduce injury...or produce injury?

I'm a parent not a coach but my daughter essentially never does back walkovers any more due to injury. Knowing how the repetition of back walkovers can lead to back injury, my feeling would be to stay away as much as possible!

Yes, we do them, most higher level kids do the, here, but they don't do a lot of them.

Our 9/10's do them as part of their beam skill complex, but in very low numbers - 1 to 3 maybe 2 to 3 times a week. Some do them on high beam, some on low and some just on a line on the floor, wherever they can be done safely.

I'm a level 10 gymnast and I always do them in the basic tumbling portion of my warm-up. I only do 2-3 of each, though, concentrating on proper technique and clean form. I think the ability to perform them correctly definitely reduces injuries; unfortunately, not all gymnasts have the ability to perform them correctly.

For example, I'm lucky because I have pretty flexible shoulders. Whenever I do back walkovers I think about stretching tall and leading the skill with my finger tips first, then opening my shoulder angle as much as possible. I use the flexibility in my shoulders so that my lower back doesn't have to arch/bend as much to complete the skill.

However, some girls who aren't very flexible in their shoulders have to rely on their lower back to get the arch needed to successfully complete the walkover due to the limited range of motion in their shoulders.