WAG Correct Starting Leg Angle for Mill/Stride Circle?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

kemilie

Proud Parent
Hello,

I am new to the world of gymnastics as my daughter just started in March of this year. It's been fun to learn about and I find it all fascinating.... ! We had our first meet this past weekend, and I have a question that I can't seem to find a definitive answer to:

When you do a mill circle, *should* your legs form a 90 degree angle, or is it just that they should form an angle of AT LEAST 90 degrees? I understand that the one leg is straight in front, parallel to the ground. But what about the leg behind the bar - should it be straight down, or can it be back in more of a 150 degree angle closer to splits? Which are the judges looking for, and is one harder than the other?

My curious mind wants to know! :)

Thanks for input!

Hello,

I am new to the world of gymnastics as my daughter just started in March of this year. It's been fun to learn about and I find it all fascinating.... ! We had our first meet this past weekend, and I have a question that I can't seem to find a definitive answer to:

When you do a mill circle, *should* your legs form a 90 degree angle, or is it just that they should form an angle of AT LEAST 90 degrees? I understand that the one leg is straight in front, parallel to the ground. But what about the leg behind the bar - should it be straight down, or can it be back in more of a 150 degree angle closer to splits? Which are the judges looking for, and is one harder than the other?

My curious mind wants to know! :)

Thanks for input!

"curiosity kills the cat" ...