Coaches Creating effective practices.

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Aero

Coach
Hello fellow coaches. I've been having a blast running my new Xcel team in its first month. It's a great feeling to finally see something take off that you've been creating from the ground up. Anyways, the purpose of this post is a call out to other coaches to see how they generally run there practices. I feel I've been doing a decent job so far of keeping the girls learning and having fun at the same time. However, I am brand new to this, so I figure any advice would be helpful.

Some details about my program and girls:

• It is the only team at my gym.
  • My gym is quite small and is basically a rec only gym.
  • We have a nice-sized foam pit, along with a trampoline, tumble track, rod floor, spring floor, and bar entering it.
  • We do not have a regulation size floor (40' x 40'), nor do we have a full length vault runway.
  • I currently have 12 girls.
  • The youngest is 5, the oldest are 9.
  • Highest difficulty skills being done by some of the girls are round-off back handspring (freshly learned in rec before team and sloppy), stalder press handstand (almost on her own, like 85-90%), free hanging pull over, backward and forward walkovers, standing back handspring, and backward hip circle.
  • Practices are held once a week for two hours (will go up to six hours a week in the summer).
  • Skill levels range a lot, as well as strength and flexibility.