WAG Developing a training plan

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I was a WAG competitive coach from 1988 - 2014. I was responsible for compulsories through level 10. Mainly vault, bars, and conditioning. In 2014 I took a break and worked for a recreational only gym. Recently (2024) a friend of mine asked me to step in and help the WAG team. I just wanted to consult and assist the team program. But it seems like they need more direction and mentoring than first anticipated. There doesn't seem to be any direction, planning, or structure for training. The coaches seem to make up plans on the spot. We are in the middle of the season. I can't see how making large changes to their training would benefit their current season. So I guess what I'm getting at is what do you and your team staff do to plan and develop a training plan per season?

I was a WAG competitive coach from 1988 - 2014. I was responsible for compulsories through level 10. Mainly vault, bars, and conditioning. In 2014 I took a break and worked for a recreational only gym. Recently (2024) a friend of mine asked me to step in and help the WAG team. I just wanted to consult and assist the team program. But it seems like they need more direction and mentoring than first anticipated. There doesn't seem to be any direction, planning, or structure for training. The coaches seem to make up plans on the spot. We are in the middle of the season. I can't see how making large changes to their training would benefit their current season. So I guess what I'm getting at is what do you and your team staff do to plan and develop a training plan per season?

Is this just a bunch of coaches working together... or is there a head coach?

Is this just a bunch of coaches working together... or is there a head coach.
So, technically there is a new head coach, but they will be taking leave shortly and returning in the Fall of this year. The other coaches are young and pretty new to coaching IMHO.