WAG mental block

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

bridget

Gymnast
I'm new to this so I'm sorry if I didn't post correctly but I have this mental block against flyaways. I could do them and I was never scared of them before but at a meet I pulled in and hit my knees on the bar and fell on my neck. I'm okay now and my coach is working on them again with me but I can't seem to do it. I know I let go at horizontal and tuck but my brain won't let me. My coach is getting fed up with me and I'm frustrated. I want to be able to do flyaways again but I can't. Advice?

Time. It just takes time and patience on your part and the part of the coach. My dd is in your situation only she has hit her toes on the bar several times and it caused her a huge mental block. We worked though Doc Alli's fear workbook and that helped a lot (she also had a block on her BWO on beam.) Her BWO is back and she's starting to work on flyaway drills again, but is still competing an under swing dismount for now. If your coach has coached gymnastics for any length of time they should be fully aware of how to handle mental blocks and getting frustrated with you is not the answer. I'm sorry you are dealing with this.

I hit my toes on a layout once, and I had a little bit of a mental block. This probably won't work for you, but I did layouts into the pit and had my teammates tell me if I was close, etc.

For your situation:

You could put up one of those cheese mats up and put it so its just out of your reach. Then, either extend or if you feel comfortable let go and try to hit the cheese mat down with only your feet (like the diagram)

Screen Shot 2017-02-05 at 3.10.16 PM.png

As you get better and better, move the cheese mat further away. This will help train you to let go and travel further, so you won't hit the bar.

Make sure the top of the cheese mat is above the bar, and aim to hit it over on the top. Oh, and obviously do this over a pit or a resi.