Parents New Parent and Gym Concerns

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

windydays

Proud Parent
I am new to Chalkbucket, but I have enjoyed reading the various forums. I finally registered today because I am in dire need of advice.

A new family joined our gym almost a year ago. Please let me know if you experience these situations or have in the past and what you did, if anything, to resolve them.

Parent coaches and criticizes child from the parent-viewing area during practice. My child has said that her friend gets things taken away until she makes a skill. Child doesn't want to come out of locker room after practice and face parent. Brought child in to practice even when ill. Dad has medicated child in parent area with child crying and then sent her out to the floor. Parent is paying for private lessons each week so his child can get skills. Parent criticizes gym/coaching constantly.

I had a meeting with HC and nothing has been resolved. The parent calmed down for a few weeks (maybe two or three) and then is back at it. Is this the norm? If we leave and go somewhere else, should I expect similar problems? I don't want to keep dealing with this anymore.

Although I can see why it could be annoying to others in earshot, I am not sure why this is something you are dealing with- your child isn't being corrected by this parent, right? Is there a gym rule about parents? At our gym, parents may watch from the balcony, but there is no talking to kids or coaches on the floor at all. If there is a rule, I would ask it be enforced. Otherwise, those are crazy gym parents, for sure, but I am not sure there is anything you can do.

I am new to Chalkbucket, but I have enjoyed reading the various forums. I finally registered today because I am in dire need of advice.

A new family joined our gym almost a year ago. Please let me know if you experience these situations or have in the past and what you did, if anything, to resolve them.