Parents Xcel gold instead of compulsories?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Mrs. Puma

Gold Membership
Proud Parent
Since I'm still fairly new to all this, I'd appreciate any opinions! We had a meeting tonight and HC is having the new girls on the team do Xcel gold then eventually score out of 4/5 then go to either 6 or 7. Is this common? DD did two meets at level 3 while on the pre-team this spring and now she is a solid level 4 except for the kip. She has ROBHSBT (BT not perfect, but she lands it) and she has BHS on beam. Would silver make more sense to start? I trust in HC, and she wants to be challenged, but googling Xcel gold routines, they look a little above her level. Thanks!

I don't know how common it is; I would guess it depends on where you live. I wouldn't guess it's very common as most gyms and coaches seem to look down on xcel, whether rightly or not.

As for level, no way would she be a silver- at least not the two places we have lived. In both she would be solidly gold. If she had her kip she would be straddling platinum. The thing with xcel is that the levels are far more broad than JO. Even trying to compare the two, each xcel level would cover 2-3 JO levels in terms of skills.

Thanks! We're in Syracuse if that matters. (Not exactly a breeding ground for gymnasts! Lol)

Just to give you an example- my DD is xcel gold. On floor she will compete a robhs and a front tuck. On beam bwo and cartwheel with a front tuck dismount. Bars, low and high bar kips, and a flyaway dismount. Her current floor is about a level 3 and her current bars is about a 5. There is lots of room to do what each gymmie does best.

one of the better gyms in our area does exactly that...they take everyone to gold (or some even platium) xcel and then decide who stays xcel and who goes to optionals. they quickly score them out of 4/5 and are ready for 7.