Back Hip Circle Problem!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Ok, so I'm USAG level 4, training 5/6. I have very solid routines on everything but bars. I've fallen on every skill in meets except for my glide pullover and mill circle. The most I've fallen in one routine in twice. Right now, bars is looking pretty good except for my back hip circle. I have a 90 degrees cast which is slightly piked and then my coach tells me I pike into the bar and its making it impossible for me to go around. It's so annoying because I feel like my cast is hollow and then I feel like going into my back hip circle I'm hollow but I'm not. My coach tells me to bring my shoulders back but when I do that, I'm either still piked, or I don't get me hips on the bar and I shoot out! .Does anyone have any tips or drill? Southern Leagues is on Sunday and I have 2 Practices left! I really need help!

Cast
put your shoulders in your ears as your hips come back to the bar
Make sure you are still leaning slightly forward before you start the back hip
Lean back with your shoulders. Your feet aren't heavy enough to spin your body around the bar. when you pike, you are basically trying to let you calves and feet pull you around the bar. Let your upper body push you around the bar.
Rotate your hands slightly ahead of your body so you keep moving.

Start the shoulder pull for the undershoot while you are still leaning forward in the back hip.
Most folks don't realize that these skills both start with the shoulders over the bar and not straight up and down.

In the undershoot, act like you are doing another back hip circle. When you hit the candle stick shape on the other side of the bar, throw the bar away behind you.

A good drill is to do 3 back hips in a row.

Good luck

A crucial and in my opinion under-emphasized point in back hip circles and freehips is the drop back with the shoulders.