My dd has been offered a place on the level 4 team, concerns...

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

A

aewenger

Our team starts practice much before my husband or I can get them there from school/work. I am working on looking into carpooling but that doesn't seem to be working out. Another concern is the time? Now practices are 6 hours a week. But it won't be long until practicing consumes much more time. Our gym offers a USAIGC team also. According to her coach she would enter at the copper level but is close to moving up to bronze.

I am wondering if I should just have her join the copper team or should I try and work out the level 4 team. I want her to enjoy it but to continue to develop her skills. Trying to find information to help me make a decision.

Not sure about the differences between USAIGC and USAG as I have no experience with the first and limited experience with the second! Our gym added USAIGC this year but only for the older girls.

Anyway, what I can comment on is the carpooling. :) We've had a great year and DD made a great friend through our carpool! I work 2 days a week and another team mom has gone back to school so we worked out a carpool and it's been great for us. We're even riding the 2+ hours to the state meet together this weekend! If that is the deciding factor for you, then I'd try to find someone that you can work with. Maybe they bring the girls to the gym and you bring them home? It could be a win-win with the right person.

Best of luck to you and your daughter, whatever you do!