WAG Tumbling passes

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

gymisforeveryone

Coach
Judge
I'm new to coach optionals. I have coached a group of girls between the last compulsory level and the first optional level. They'll all move up next season. I have one girl who has never learnt a proper RO BHS. She does it in her floor routine but the back handspring is HIGH. She has straight nice lines but the timing is off and she lands the RO with feet back and chest front. She HATES back handsprings and I have had rough time teaching her the proper positions with little or no progress. She refuses to do back handsprings from standing and only does RO BHS when she is absolutely forced. She also complains wrist pain and sometimes back pain but I'm not sure is it just to make me allow her to skip doing them.

She has nice RO BT and RO LO.
SO, I was wondering if I should let her do RO BHSs as little as possible or go back to very very basics and spend summer just forcing her to work with RO BHS? I know it's very essential skill but then again, she's 14 yo and only does gymnastics for fun and if I made her practice the BHS all summer she would probably walk away...

In level E she has to have

1) Tumbling pass with front tuck
2) Tumbling pass with back tuck
3) Tumbling pass of four flight skills

She's good at front tumbling. She has nice FHS FT... So technically I could make her do three tumbling passes:

1) FHS FT
2) BHS LO
3) FHS (step out) FHS FT (step out) RO (or something like that?)

The problem is that she cannot connect her back handspring to anything and she hates it. So should I make her practice that third pass even if it isn't that "productive"?

I would appreciate more experienced coaches opinions!

Ummm so it sounds like she's doing a roundoff for a back tuck on the way into the backhandspring? (landing feet behind her, rather than feet in front).