Help with straddle undershoot on bars

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I have been working on straddle undershoot for a couple of months now because I only do one hour of gym a week. I have improved it a lot from when I started but still can not quite do it. I cast to get my feet on, but my toes only tap the bar before falling off. The coach said that I lean my shoulders back so they are not over the bar, which means I won't be able to get my feet on. Also, she said that I am pushing away from the bar with my arms, but I'm not sure how to stop doing this. One last thing was that I think it would be easier to do this if I could get my casts higher, but I am also not sure how. Someone has said before to try practising jumping my feet onto a floor bar, but we don't normally have one set up at my gym so I can't do this. Any tips to help me get my feet on would be greatly appreciated, thanks! :)

Quick note for the american members - I think this is called a sole circle dismount, possibly your level 2 dismount?

anyway hi op and you're right, improving the height of your casts will help, this will come with more core and upper body strength. You also need to be flexible enough to get into the straddle position on the bar.

Here's a couple of things you can do at home, assuming you've got a little bit of space and your not on a solid concrete floor.

Hold front support on the floor, shoulders above your hands, start with 30 seconds and build from there, keep you back rounded and your bottom down as you've been show at the gym.

Starting in front support, shoulders above or slightly in front of your hands, jump feet to straddle either side of your hands. No cheating with your feet, don't walk them in or shorten your front support before jumping.

If you're not very flexible then work on sitting in straddle and folding your chest to the floor.