For Coaches Level 8 bar requirement

Parents... Coaches... Gymnasts...
Gymnastics Questions?
Don't Lurk... We've Got Answers!

New For 2022
MEMBERS ONLY Parent Group!
Join for FREE!
Status
Not open for further replies.

Livinatthegym

Member
Feb 4, 2008
204
Region IV
I know they have a choice of a turn (usually a pirouette) or a bar change with release (baille, toe shoot, straddle back). Could a giant full be used for the turn?
 

gymdog

Coach
Jul 5, 2007
5,121
No, because it exceeds the difficulty restriction. A blind to front giant could be used.
 

CoachL

Member
Apr 9, 2007
217
no D's allowed in level 8!! Also remember if you have her doing a bail in level 8 that it can't go to handstand because that is also a D.
 

gymdog

Coach
Jul 5, 2007
5,121
no D's allowed in level 8!! Also remember if you have her doing a bail in level 8 that it can't go to handstand because that is also a D.

I thought it had to come from handstand or something for that. Isn't it a C from a horizontal cast? Maybe I'm confused, or I just don't think a cast horizontal shootover HS should be restricted when straddle back HS is allowed is more like it lol. Never learned a shootover (failed at the early drills, went to paks) so I'm not that up on them.
 

gymkat

Judge
Jun 24, 2008
691
A bail that starts and ends in a handstand is a D. If you start below HS and end in a HS (or conversely start in a HS and end lower than a HS), then I believe it's a C. I don't have my judging materials in Germany, though, so I could be wrong.
 

gymdog

Coach
Jul 5, 2007
5,121
I think I get confused between that and handstand to horizontal raising the the value from a B to a C.
 

lannamavity

Member
Sep 13, 2007
409
way out West
If a bail ends in a HS it is D, a straddle back to hand is a C

Any shoot to handstand is a "D".

A straddle back from handstand to handstand is a "D".

A straddle back or shootover from a handstand to below a handstand is a "C".

A straddle back from a swing to handstand is a "C".

A straddle back from a swing to non-handstand support is a "B".

A shootover from a non-handstand support to a non-handstand support is a "B".
 
Status
Not open for further replies.